CONTACT FAWNA

Emergency Care Centres by Area:

An emergency care centre is an initial point of contact to FAWNA Inc. Care centres will provide guidance and advice on the care of animals. They are also designated drop off points. Care centres take in casualties, give first aid, obtain veterinary treatment and may care for the animals or transfer it to another FAWNA member.

If you do not have a care centre in your local area please call FAWNA on 0438 526 660 and they can direct you to someone who can help.

Location FAWNA Contact Phone No.
Augusta Karen Northcott 0420 656 846
Boyanup Vicki Newman 0429 775 186
Bunbury Michelle Holzknecht 0429 982 800
Busselton Suzanne Strapp 0438 526 660
Margaret River Linda Moyle 0403 533 367
Yallingup Helen & Sean 0407 441 308

What to do if You Find Injured Wildlife

  1. Phone FAWNA on 0438 526 660 or the DBCA Wildcare Helpline on (08) 9474 9055. 
  2. Note the location, time of day and condition of the animal where you found it.
  3. Follow the advice from the call centre operator. They will put you in touch with the nearest wildlife rehabilitator that can take the animal into care.
  4. Contain the animal securely so that it does not injure itself further or injure you – use a towel or similar to pick it up and place in a secure, well ventilated box in a quiet, dark place. Do not feed the animal or give it water unless you have been advised to do so.
  5. Be careful of teeth, claws, beaks etc. when approaching and handling wildlife. Although injured, animals can be very dangerous when frightened or stressed.

If you have found a non-native or domestic animal that is injured or in trouble, contact the RSPCA on 1300 777 222 or your local council/shire.

General Wildlife Advice

For general over-the-phone care advice please contact the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions (DBCA) Wildcare Helpline on (08) 9474 9055.

Specific Wildlife Advice

FAWNA carers have wide ranging expertise and experience in relation to wildlife rescue and care. For species specific advice, please see below:

 

Species FAWNA Contact Phone No.
Swans / cygnets Bev (08) 9754 1906
Ducklings Robyn 0417 997 388
Reptiles / turtles Linda 0403 533 367
Birds (general) Vickie

Suzanne

0429 775 186

0438 526 660

Black cockatoos Wildcare Helpline

Deidre Patterson

Kaarakin (Perth)

(08) 9474 9055

(08) 9756 1119

0448 046 202

Raptors Nancy

Eagles Heritage

0410 439 561

(08) 9757 2960

Possums Suzanne  0438 526 660
Phascogales / carnivorous marsupials Peter

Carol

0409 207 950

0488 085 117

Seabirds Suzanne 0438 526 660
Snake handlers / snake relocation John

Kim

0478 603 703

0417 992 492

More Link Resources

Local Vets

Australind Vet –  http://www.australind-vet.com/

Brunswick Central Vet Clinic –  http://www.brunswickcentralvet.com.au

Busselton Veterinary Hospital – http://bsnvet.net.au

Bunbury Vet Clinic – http://www.bunburyvet.com.au/

Cape Creatures Veterinary Hospital, Margaret River – http://www.capecreaturesvet.com.au/

Capel GEOvet Veterinary Hospital – http://www.geovet.com.au/

Dunsborough Veterinary Hospital – 9755 3931

GEOVet Veterinary Hospital, Busselton – http://www.geovet.com.au/

Heritage Veterinary Clinic, Busselton – http://www.heritagevets.com.au/

McGregor Veterinary Clinic, Bunbury – http://www.gateway.net.au/~mcvc/

Margaret River Vet Hospital – http://www.margaretrivervet.com.au/

Nannup GEOvet Veterinary Hospital – http://www.geovet.com.au/

Vasse Vets – http://www.vassevets.com.au/

Resource Links

Wildlife Rescue and Rehabilitation Organisations

Western Australian Wildlife Rehabilitation Council Inc (WAWRC) – http://wawrc.org.au/

Possum Centre Busselton Inc – http://www.possumcentre.com.au/

Kanyana Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre – http://www.kanyanawildlife.org.au/

WA Seabird Rescue – http://www.waseabirdrescue.com

Society for the Preservation of Raptors (Inc) – http://www.raptor.org.au/

Eagles Heritage Centre, Margaret River – http://www.eaglesheritage.com.au/

Native Animal Rescue – http://www.nativeanimalrescue.org.au

West Whales – http://westwhales.org.au

Project Numbat – http://numbat.org.au/

Turtle Oblonga Rescue and Rehabilitation Network Inc – http://www.turtleoblonganetwork.org.au/

State Agencies and Organisations

Department of Water and Environment Regulation – http://www.der.wa.gov.au

Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions (DBCA) – http://www.dpaw.wa.gov.au/

Lotterywest – http://www.lotterywest.wa.gov.au/

Wildlife Information

Birdlife Australia – http://www.birdlife.org.au/

Australian Museum – http://australianmuseum.net.au/animals

Department of the Environment and Energy: Threatened Species and Ecological Communties http://www.environment.gov.au/biodiversity/threatened/

Supporters

Busselton Agricultural Services

Bunnings – http://www.bunnings.com.au

City of Busselton – http://www.busselton.wa.gov.au/

M&B Sales – http://www.mbsales.net.au/

STA Accountants – http://www.staaccountants.com.au/

Telstra Store Busselton – https://www.telstra.com.au/

The Forbidden Fruit, Stratham – http://www.forbiddenfruit.net.au/

Total Eden – http://totaleden.com.au

Other useful links 

Environmental Science https://www.environmentalscience.org

FAWNA Inc Inquiries

For enquiries or any other FAWNA business please contact FAWNA’s Committee members on fawna.inc@gmail.com. Alternatively, FAWNA Committee members and their contact details are listed.

(08) 9474 9055

fawna.inc@gmail.com


Location

FAWNA is based in Busselton with the majority of members located in the South West of Western Australia. Our committee meets monthly with our AGM being held in March/April of every year. Currently we are meeting at the Men’s Shed, Roe Terrace, Busselton; located close to land granted to FAWNA for a new centre of operations. The FAWNA shed, also on Roe Terrace (next to the Pepi Cafe and Community Gardens) was completed in 2015 to house the wildlife emergency response trailer and other supplies.

Postal Address

PO Box 551

Busselton WA  6280

Connect with FAWNA on Social Media

Instagram

Post Donations To:

FAWNA Treasurer

PO Box 551

Busselton WA  6280

Direct Deposit To:

FAWNA Inc

ANZ Bank – BSB 016580

Account No. 1862 06292

Menu